Clare Boothe Luce Program for Women in STEM

Clare Boothe Luce Program

About Clare Boothe Luce

Courtesy of the Clare Boothe Luce Archives

Clare Boothe Luce was truly a remarkable woman. Her career spanned seven decades and nearly as many professional interests—journalism, politics, the theatre, diplomacy, and intelligence.

Program History

Ambassador Luce’s bequest created a program that has become one of the single largest private sources of funding for women’s STEM higher education. The Clare Boothe Luce Program awarded its first grants in 1989, and is dedicated to increasing the participation of women in the sciences, mathematics and engineering at every level of higher education. It also serves as a catalyst for colleges and universities to be proactive in their own efforts toward this goal. As stated in her will, the program is intended "to encourage women to enter, study, graduate, and teach" in fields where there have been various obstacles, professional and personal, to their advancement. Ambassador Luce also specified that at least half of the grant awards must go to Roman Catholic colleges or universities. Thirteen institutions specifically named in Ambassador Luce’s will receive annual grants from the Clare Boothe Luce Program in perpetuity. Beyond these, the Program’s Selection Committee invites other colleges and universities to compete annually for grants. 

Selection Committee

In her bequest establishing the program, Clare Boothe Luce indicated that the program would be guided by a Selection Committee. The current members of the Clare Boothe Luce Program Selection Committee are:

James Piereson, chair
William E. Simon Foundation
Amy Liu
Professor and Chair of Physics
Georgetown University
Sean M. Decatur
The American Museum of Natural History
Keith Rothfus
Former United States Representative
Twelfth Congressional District, Pennsylvania
Joanne Berger-Sweeney
Trinity College
Bridgett Wagner
Vice President, Policy Promotion
The Heritage Foundation

Directory of Professors

One of the most impactful outcomes of the Clare Boothe Luce Program has been the support of over 300 Clare Boothe Luce Professors at institutions across the nation.

The Directory of Clare Boothe Luce Professors lists individuals who were granted early-career professorships by institutions that were awarded grants by the Clare Boothe Luce Program. This list may not reflect each scholar's current institution or affiliation.

Image: Kenyon College's Margo Goldfarb ’20 and Associate Professor of Chemistry Kerry Rouhier. © Rebecca Kiger
Carat Up